My Web3 Journey

gm

ยท

3 min read

So...why do this?

via GIPHY

Well...why not? Writing about what I'm taking on project-wise, what my thoughts are related to Web3 and the direction it is going in, and potential collaborations seems like a win-win. Also, if it helps anyone else that is going down this rabbit hole or just gives you a laugh then that is great as well! My goal is to keep these posts short and digestible - able to be read within three to seven minutes per setting. Ideally, I'll post once per week. Seems reasonable, right?! Hopefully, this will help me avoid what some aspiring developers refer to as "tutorial hell" by producing content that documents my progress. I've heard tales of this place on Twitter and I think it might be a real spot.

via GIPHY

Obviously, I'd like to keep this light (see included GIFs). If you see me mischaracterize something or oversimplify please hit me up on Twitter here. Please spare me the overly aggressive Reddit or StackOverflow style commentary...

Ummm, actually what you said there about the EVM was completely wrong and you're dumb and terrible at this... - Anon Pro Reddit User

What I've been doing this week

I discovered buildspace and I've been hooked since then. The projects that they host are ๐Ÿ”ฅ and I recommend checking them out. You can quickly get experience working on Ethereum and Solana smart contracts, minting NFTs (even making a game using them), or building out a DAO that includes minting your own governance token! If you finish the project within seven days you get a pretty sweet NFT thrown your way as long as you sign in with your MetaMask wallet.

Finally, I want to shout out Scrimba๐Ÿš€. If you're interested in web dev and are looking for online-based training I highly recommend checking them out. I signed up for the Javascript course because of how foundational it is in dapp dev and finished the course this week. Sneak peak: you'll learn about interacting with the DOM, basic Javascript syntax, loops, functions, and local storage!! I was so impressed with the content I signed up for a Pro account and am working on the Front End Developer track.

Next week

Next week I'll focus exclusively on how to go about setting up a MetaMask wallet from start to finish. Wallets are foundational to adoption of Web3 tech so that's where I'll pivot to next. Security considerations are vital in this area so I'll hit on that aspect as well. I know, I know, there are already 500 walkthroughs on this topic so why put together another one? Why not?!?

Looking forward to putting this together going forward! If you get value out of this please let me know on Twitter. If you think it's terrible or would like to see other content let me know that too. I'm always open to constructive criticism.

ย